The Ministry provides leadership and funding, develops policy and legislation, develops accountability frameworks and monitors the performance of all education, youth, sports and library matters.

The Ministry of Education, Youth Affairs and Sports has responsibility for all educational services, the Department of Library Services, the Department of Youth Affairs and Sports as well as the BVI National Commission for UNESCO.


To develop the mental, physical, social and spiritual being of every individual whom the Ministry serves so that they become responsible and productive in an increasingly vibrant and technological Virgin Islands society.


To provide high quality educational services, as well as, to facilitate access to and participation in sports and recreation, in order to enrich the lives of all residents of these Virgin Islands.

Core Values

We believe in a safe and healthy working environment where employees feel valued and respected, where confidentiality and ethics are promoted, and efficient service is rendered.


Minister for Education, Youth Affairs and Sports

Honourable Sharie B. de Castro
Permanent Secretary
Marcia Potter, PhD

Deputy Secretary (Ag.)
Claude Kettle


Chief Education Officer
Connie George, PhD

Ministry of Education, Youth Affairs and Sports Contact Information

Ministry of Education, Youth Affairs and Sports
P.O. Box 72 Wickham’s Cay 1
Road Town, Tortola
Virgin Islands (British) VG1110 

Business Hours:

Monday - Friday  
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.


Telephone: 1(284) 468-2151


The Ministry of Education, Youth Affairs and Sports subjects include:

  1. Colleges and Universities
  2. Education
  3. Public Libraries
  4. Scholarships (excluding Civil Service Training)
  5. Sports and Recreation and Youth Affairs


Statutory Board

Other Boards/ Associated Agencies

Library Services Committee
Scholarship Trust Fund Board
Adopt-a-School Committee
Medical School Steering Negotiation Commitee (Not Active)
Early Education Advisory Committee (Not Active)
Education Advisory Board (Not Active)
Scholarship Committee
Sir Rupert Briercliffe Hall
Association for the Promotion of Arts
Higher Education Licensing Board