Press Release

Premier's Office
Release Date:
Wednesday, 21 September 2022 - 5:47pm

Premier and Minister of Finance Dr. the Honourable Natalio D. Wheatley will lead a delegation to the United States Virgin Islands  tomorrow September 22 for the Ninth Meeting of the Inter-Virgin Islands Council (IVIC). 

The council is the formal side of the BVI-USVI relationship and brings together the Premier of the BVI and Governor of the USVI, as well as key policymakers in their cabinets to explore ways to enhance the relations between the two territories. 

Permanent Secretary in the Premier’s Office, Mrs. Carolyn Stoutt Igwe said Premier Wheatley and Governor Albert Bryan will co-chair the IVIC and receive reports from three of 12 standing committees in areas of shared interest between the BVI and USVI.  

“Three committees will make presentations, namely the Committee on Energy and Utilities, the Committee on Tourism and the Committee on Pleasure Boating and Sports Fishing,” Mrs. Stoutt Igwe said. 

The BVI delegation includes Deputy Premier and Minister for Communication and Works Honourable Kye Rymer, Minister for Health and Social Development Honourable Marlon Penn, Minister for Natural Resources and Labour Honourable Melvin Turnbull, Attorney General Honourable Dawn Smith, Permanent Secretary, Premier’s Office Mrs. Carolyn Stoutt Igwe, Financial Secretary Mr. Jeremiah Frett, and other senior public officers.  

The Inter Virgin Islands Council was established on Saturday, May 29, 2004, when former USVI Governor, Dr. Charles Turnbull and Chief Minister, Dr. the Honourable D. Orlando Smith, OBE, signed a joint Memorandum of Understanding. The Councils first meeting convened on St. Croix in April 2005.


Department of Information and Public Relations (GIS)

354 James Walter Francis Drive
RJT Edifice Building, 5th Floor
Road Town, TORTOLA VG1110

Tel: 284 468 2730
Fax: 284 468 2750