Press Release

Office of the Governor
Office of the Deputy Governor
Civil Registry and Passport Office
Release Date:
Thursday, 28 May 2020 - 1:06pm

Seventy-four individuals received their Certificates of Naturalisation through a series of socially distanced ceremonies on May 26 and 27.

The ceremonies were held in the Civil Registry and Passport Office’s lobby in cohorts of 12 persons and saw the new citizens, who can now be registered as British Overseas Territory’s Citizens (BOTC), reciting the Pledge of Loyalty to the Virgin Islands, as well as the Oath of Allegiance to Her Majesty the Queen.

The ceremonies were chaired by Registrar General, Mrs. Stephanie Benn who congratulated the recipients on their new citizenship and said that due to the COVID-19 pandemic, things have had to be done differently given the challenges presented through social distancing guidelines.

She said that the reciting of the Oaths is a legal component of the naturalisation process and has to be included with each ceremony and urged the recipients to take proper care of their certificates. 

Naturalisation is a process under the British Nationality Act of 1981 and the Virgin Islands Constitution Order of 2007 by which persons can become citizens of the Virgin Islands. Naturalised citizens become British Overseas Territory Citizens and as such, they may obtain a Virgin Islands passport and are eligible for a United States visa waiver; they can register and vote in elections in the Virgin Islands; and apply to register as a British Citizen of the United Kingdom.


Photo 1: Registrar General, Mrs. Stephanie Benn and Newly Naturalised Citizen

Photo 2: Naturalised Citizens reciting the Oaths

Photo Credit: GIS/Frankly Skerritt

Names of the newly naturalised citizens are:

  1. Keith Fenton
  2. Sebert White
  3. Janice Duncan
  4. Verna Telemaque-Nibbs
  5. Andrea Nickie
  6. Denia Vanterpool Vasquez
  7. Jorge Faulkner-Ramirez
  8. Denisha Ledgister-Penn
  9. Julia King-Chase
  10. Chantel Asson-Estridge
  11. Paulino Joseph
  12. William Driver
  13. Ishaba Bedford
  14. Deba Layne-Bharat
  15. Marcus Drigo
  16. Stephane Smith Green
  17. Maisa Said
  18. Dornamay Christian-Nelson
  19. Nelson Ramirez Bell
  20. Norma Gordon
  21. Amadona Creese
  22. Fay-Ann Cornwell
  1. Magnus Cornwell
  2. Hannah Glasgow
  3. Kevin Prince
  4. Akilah Corbin
  5. Joy Maloney
  6. Henry Peters
  7. Eudene Reid
  8. Rafael Del Rosario
  9. Vanessa Theophile
  10. Marva Forbes
  11. Rockell Richards-Pemberton
  12. Rupert Heyliger
  13. Paula Ambrose
  14. Natalie Ennis-Baptiste
  15. Brian Liverpool
  16. Lenroy Henry
  17. Floyd Isaac
  18. T’sa Hodge
  19. Rose Francis
  20. Robert Stone
  21. Basil Farquharson
  22. La Fleece Prince
  23. Patrick Mitchell
  24. Christine Nissen
  25. Anastacia Thomas-Donovan
  26. Ruth Phillip
  1. Janelle Jagdeo
  2. Vernon Williams
  3. Deslyn Williams
  4. Lyndon Stevens
  5. Cislyn Stevens
  6. Kanika Smith
  7. Patria Penn
  8. Rosa Paul de Nisbett
  9. Vandah Young-Glasgow
  10. Esran Glasgow
  11. Valcy Fergusson-Demming
  12. Myrna Burrell
  13. Jamoi Watson
  14. Jeni-Lee Joseph-Watson
  15. Ruth Robin
  16. Miranda Bain
  17. Randolph Bain
  18. Anita McMillian
  19. Flavia Edwards Dougan
  20. Gwendolyn Blake Hodge
  21. Mabel Neddall
  22. Andrea Starkey
  23. Mavis Rathanum
  24. Moonsammy Rathanum
  25. Joseph Caines
  26. Leslie Henry


Temulji Hughes

Communications Officer
Deputy Governor's Office
Government of the Virgin Islands
Road Town,Tortola VG1110, Virgin Islands
Direct Line:  284 468 2350