Press Release

Ministry of Health & Social Development
Medical Services
Release Date:
Friday, 8 February 2019 - 5:55pm

The Cabinet of the Virgin Islands has approved the appointment and re-appointment of members to serve on the Medical and Dental Council for a period of three years.

The appointments took effect on August 10, 2018. Dr. Paula Nicole Trotman-Hastings and Dr. Harlan Vanterpool were re-appointed while Mrs. Chantal Flax-Ward has been newly appointed.

Other members include Dr. Garfield Wayne Boyd Neita; Dr. Dominik Frazer; Mr. Clyde Lettsome; and ex-officio member, Chief Medical Officer Dr. Irad Potter.

The Medical and Dental Council was established under the Medical Act, 2000 for the registration and regulation of medical and dental professionals working in the Territory. The registration process ensures that the credentials presented are genuine and that individuals meet the requirements necessary to practice in the Virgin Islands.

The council is responsible for issuing certificates of registration to enable physicians to practice medicine, monitoring and maintaining standards of practice, investigating complaints against physicians on behalf of the public and conducting disciplinary proceedings into allegations of professional misconduct or incompetence of physicians.

The Ministry of Health and Social Development aspires to provide a caring and integrated system of health and social services that facilitates human development and improves the quality of life in the Virgin Islands.


Adrianna J. Soverall

Ministry of Health and Social Development
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Telephone: 1(284)468-2272 or 2174