Press Release

Cabinet Office
Release Date:
Friday, 22 March 2019 - 4:53pm

The Fourth Cabinet of the Virgin Islands held a one-day Executive Briefing Retreat at which Members received a status report of major issues pertinent to the Cabinet’s executive mandate.

The Retreat, which was held under the theme, “Looking Ahead: The Cabinet’s Executive Mandate”, was held on  March 2019 at the Scrub Island Resort Spa and Marina.

Chairman of the Cabinet Governor Mr. Augustus Jaspert stated that the Executive Retreat was an opportunity for the new Government to be briefed on a number of key areas. “As Chair of Cabinet, one of my roles is to ensure the Cabinet functions effectively with a view to making sound policy decisions and that Ministers demonstrate their best because at the core, Cabinet is the top decision-making body where “the policies and direction of the Territory are decided by the Government.”

Governor Jaspert explained that the objective was to bring the Ministers and Junior Ministers together to hear about all the Territory’s top issues that as a new Government they would have to “grapple with and start formulating ideas for how we take the Territory forward.”

Premier and Minister of Finance Honourable Andrew A. Fahie welcomed the Executive Retreat and described it as very informative. “The Retreat allowed for the new Ministers to be briefed on what some of the Government’s agencies are doing and to get a status report on public sector reform,” adding that, “the information received would assist us with adjusting our planning by allowing us to see how it would fit in with what is already in progress.”

Premier Fahie further stated, “What is good we will continue and what is not, we will adjust.  We want to remove Government bureaucracy while still being accountable and efficient.”

Collective feedback from Members and the Junior Ministers was that the Executive Retreat was very enlightening and instructive, and that presentations provided a better understanding of the existing challenges and opportunities.

According to the Cabinet Secretary Sandra Ward, the primary objectives of the Cabinet Executive Retreat was for Members to receive presentations on the status of major issues relevant to the Cabinet’s executive mandate and to develop a strategic focus for the business of the Cabinet in the coming months.

Presentations focused on nine different areas including Good Governance, Economic Substance, Recovery, Disaster Management, Infrastructure, Finances, Security, Public Service Transformation, and Financial Services. 

Presenters included the Deputy Governor Mr. David Archer, Financial Secretary Mr. Glenroy Forbes, Permanent Secretary in the Deputy Governor’s Office MRs. Carolyn Stoutt-Igwe, Acting Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Communications and Works Mr. Jeremy Hodge, Managing Director of the Financial Services Commission Dr. Robert Mathavious, Executive Director/Office of International Business (Regulations) Mr. Neil Smith, Chief Executive Officer of the Recovery and Development Agency Mr. Paul Bayly, Commissioner of Police Mr. Michael Matthew, Deputy Commissioner of Police Mr. Alwin James and Director of Disaster Management Ms. Sharleen DaBreo, MBE.

The Cabinet comprise the Governor (Chairman), the Premier, the four Ministers and the Attorney General.  The Cabinet makes decisions by collective agreement of the Ministers; is responsible for the formulation of policy, except those matters for which the Governor has special responsibility under section 60 of the Constitution, and is collectively responsible to the House of Assembly for such policies and their implementation.

Attached Photo Caption:

  1. Members of Cabinet and the Junior Ministers participate in one-day Executive Briefing Retreat held at held on 20th March, 2019 at the Scrub Island Resort Spa and Marina.
  1. Financial Secretary Mr. Glenroy Forbes presents on the State of Finances at the recent Executive Briefing Retreat held by the Fourth Cabinet of the Virgin Islands on 20th March, 2019.

Audio Clips:

  1. Chairman of the Cabinet Governor Mr. Augustus Jaspert
  2. Premier and Minister of Finance Honourable Andrew A. Fahie