Press Release

Premier's Office
Release Date:
Monday, 3 September 2018 - 2:28pm

The deadline for written evidence to be submitted to the United Kingdom (UK) Foreign Affairs Select Committee Inquiry on the future of the UK’s Overseas Territories (OTs) has been extended to September 18.

The Inquiry was announced on July 20, and will consider the resilience of the OTs, how effectively the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) manages its responsibilities towards them, and how it envisages their future. It will also address specific areas including:

  • The governance of the OTs, including their adherence to human rights frameworks;
  • The benefits of the relationship between the UK and the OTs;
  • The financing of the OTs;
  • Representation of the OTs in the UK and in the Commonwealth and other international fora;
  • Assets and liabilities (including but not limited to ecological richness and the effects of extreme weather, and natural resources such as minerals and fish).

Premier and Minister of Finance, Dr. the Honourable D. Orlando Smith, OBE has said that the initiative by the Foreign Affairs Select Committee is an important one.

He said, “The Inquiry gives us another forum to present our perspective on a range of issues and we intend to take full advantage of this opportunity to do so.”

As the Government of the Virgin Islands prepares its submission to the UK Parliamentary Foreign Affairs Select Committee Inquiry on the future of the UK’s Overseas Territories (OTs), the public is reminded that they can make a written submission directly to the committee at Additionally, submissions sent via email to will be forwarded to the Committee.

The public is also invited to tune in to ZBVI 780AM on Tuesday, September 11 at 7:00 p.m. to participate in a special radio programme hosted by the Premier’s Office to discuss the UK inquiry and share their thoughts and ideas.


There is a House of Commons Select Committee for each government department, examining three (3) aspects: spending, policies and administration. These departmental committees have a minimum of 11 members, elected by their fellow Members of Parliament, who decide upon the line of inquiry and then gather written and oral evidence. Once a Committee has published its findings, the Government then usually has 60 days to respond to the Committee's recommendations.


Bria Smith

Information Officer II
Department of Information and Public Relations (GIS)
Telephone: 468-2747