Press Release

Governor's Group
Office of the Governor
Office of the Deputy Governor
Release Date:
Wednesday, 13 September 2023 - 1:48pm

34 individuals are now registered as British Citizens after being previously naturalised as British Overseas Territories Citizens.

During a ceremony held at Government House on Friday, September 8, the individuals recited the Oath of Allegiance to His Majesty the King, as well as the Pledge of Loyalty to the United Kingdom.

The new citizens also received congratulatory remarks from His Excellency the Governor, John J. Rankin, CMG, and Registrar General, Mrs. Tashi O’Flaherty-Maduro.

Governor Rankin said, “You have shown your commitment to the United Kingdom, your knowledge of its history, its institutions, and its language. There are already strong links between the United Kingdom, and the British Virgin Islands, you are now part of those links.”

Registrar General, Mrs. Tashi O’Flaherty-Maduro congratulated the new citizens for enduring what can be a lengthy process, and informed them that as British citizens, they now have the right to hold a British passport, as well as abode in the United Kingdom. She also reminded them that they will be expected to favourably represent the United Kingdom in their conduct, speech and actions.

According to the British Nationality Act, individuals who are naturalised as British Overseas Territory Citizens after May 21, 2002, can apply to the United Kingdom Government to be registered as British Citizens.

The 34 new British citizens are:

Aftab Alli

Eartha Lorraine Barker

Symarj Anthony Bobb

Raymond Alroy Caton

Akada Kennisha Charles

Ivin Davis

Kimberlee Casandra Bailey-Francis

Alaire Chrys-Daveen Khan Frazer

Rachael Rebecca Rodriguez Frazer

Leisha Ann Joyce Frett

Mignolia Lopez De George

Shibon Avalyn Guy

T’sa Lovia James Hodge

Tashel Latisha Martin-Jackson

Emerline Victoria Jennings

Abigail Aghogho Joseph

Gary Bernard Joshua

Nerissa Nina Lindie

Erlina Andretha Matthews

Nadia Maria Preciosa Menezes

Asma Muhammad

Darren Darian Muhammad

Elizabeth Mylan

Richard Naraine

Seema Kamalpatie Naraine

Margaret Olivia Paul

Veronica Viola Prince

Latreesha Marceda Rogers

Carlos Septus

Hannah Singh

Cherry-Ann Linda Cynthia George-Smith

Raphael Eric Stoll

Daniela Renee De Leon Vanterpool

Levon Themba Ayodaily Williams



Eusa Z. Adams

Assistant Information Officer
Deputy Governor's Office
Government of the Virgin Islands
Tel: 284.468.2219