Press Release

Office of the Governor
Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court
Release Date:
Friday, 21 February 2020 - 4:56pm

A week of activities has been planned by the BVI Supreme Court in conjunction with the BVI Bar Association to mark the 53rd Anniversary of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court.    

The week of activities will run from Monday, February 24 until Friday, February 28 and will include a Five Day Quiz Competition. Primary and secondary school students can tune in to radio station ZBVI – 780 AM during the Morning Devotion broadcast to participate in the quiz competition.

Court staff will visit select primary schools in the Territory to deliver short talks on the functions of the institution.  Students will also be taken on a tour of the High Court where they will meet and greet the Resident Judges and legal professionals.

There will be a free Legal Aid Clinic on Thursday, February 27, the Court’s anniversary, where members of the public have the opportunity to receive a legal consultation with local firms on a variety of topics of interest such as Land, Simple Contract and Tort, Matrimonial, Labour and Immigration, Insurance Claims and Estate planning/Succession/Wills. The clinic will be held on the 4th Floor of the Sakal Building from 9:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. Interested persons are asked to telephone 468 5001 or 468 4943 for more information.  

The public is invited to participate in the scheduled events as the Territory celebrates this milestone in judicial history.

The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (the Court) is a superior court of record that consists of two divisions: the Court of Appeal and the High Court of Justice. It was first established in 1967 by the West Indies Associated States Supreme Court Order No. 223 of 1967. It serves six independent states: Antigua and Barbuda, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and three British Overseas Territories, namely Anguilla, British Virgin Islands, and Monserrat. The ECSC has unlimited jurisdiction in each member state. 

The Court (the judiciary) of the Territory comprises one of three independent, but co-equal branches of Government. The ECSC continues to carry out its mission: To serve its Member States by providing access to a system of justice that is accountable and independent, and administered by officers in a prompt, fair, efficient and effective manner.


Temulji Hughes

Communications Officer
Deputy Governor's Office
Government of the Virgin Islands
Road Town,Tortola VG1110, Virgin Islands
Direct Line:  284 468 2350