Press Release

Ministry of Education, Culture, Youth Affairs Boards & Committees
Release Date:
Wednesday, 20 January 2021 - 10:41am

Six schools across the Territory are expected to compete in the Ministry of Education’s annual Inter-Secondary School Debates beginning February 3.

The schools participating in this year’s debates are: Bregado Flax Educational Centre Secondary, Cedar International School, Ciboney Centre for Excellence, Claudia Creque Educational Centre Secondary, Elmore Stoutt High School and Virgin Islands School of Technical Studies.

Co-Curricular Education Officer, Mrs. Heida Selwood said the aim of the debates is to encourage students to improve their public speaking skills and also to communicate various forms of argument effectively in a variety of context.

 “Students will develop the ability to analyse controversies, select and evaluate evidence, construct and refute arguments as well as have the opportunity to interact with students from other schools in the context of a social and intellectual activity,”  she added.

The schedules for the debates are as follows:


Preliminary Round

Debate #1

Date:               Wednesday, February 3

Time:              11:00 a.m.

Venue:            Elmore Stoutt High School Lecture Room #1

Moot:              Vaccinations are the most effective means to prevent diseases.

Proposition:    Cedar International School

Opposition:     Claudia Creque Educational Centre


Debate #2

Date:              Wednesday, February 3

Time:              1:00 p.m.

Venue:           Elmore Stoutt High School Lecture Room #1

Moot:             Lack of self-discipline is the biggest problem affecting learners in Virgin Islands schools

Proposition:   Elmore Stoutt High School

Opposition:   Virgin Islands School of Technical Studies


Debate #3

Date:              Thursday, February 4

Time:              11:00 a.m.

Venue:           Elmore Stoutt High School Lecture Room #1

Moot:             Standardised testing in the Virgin Islands school system should be abolished.

Proposition:   Bregado Flax Educational Centre Secondary

Opposition:   Ciboney Centre for Excellence

The winner of each debate and the loosing team with highest score will automatically advance to the semifinal round and the winners of each semi-final debate will face off in the final debate.

All health protocols will be observed. The debates will also be streamed on Facebook LIVE @BVIGovernment.

For more information contact Mrs. Selwood in the Ministry of Education, Culture, Youth Affairs, Fisheries and Agriculture at 468–2752.



Nekita Turnbull

Ag. Deputy Chief Information Officer
Department of Information & Public Relations 
Telephone: 468-2730