Press Release

Premier's Office
BVI Tourist Board
Ministry of Communications and Works
BVI Ports Authority Ltd
Release Date:
Wednesday, 21 December 2022 - 11:59am

The Ritz-Carlton Yacht Collection’s Evrima was welcomed to the shores of the Virgin Islands by way of Virgin Gorda on Friday, December 16. The luxury cruise vessel spent the day in Virgin Gorda and then continued to Jost Van Dyke to continue its call within the Territory.

Deputy Premier and Minister for Ports, Honourable Kye M. Rymer, in welcoming the Evrima said the Ritz-Carlton Yacht Collection to the Virgin Islands highlights the Territory’s renewed focus on the cruise industry.

“Part of the cruise growth strategy involves focusing on smaller luxury lines that will spend multiple days in the Virgin Islands. This is important as the Cruise Lines Industry Association (CLIA) State of the Industry 2022 report indicates that 6 in 10 people who have taken a cruise say that they have returned to a destination that they first visited via cruise ship,” Honourable Rymer said.

The Evrima is currently on a seven-night cruise from Phillipsburg, St. Maarten to San Juan, Puerto Rico with 285 passengers and 212 crew members onboard. After the vessel departs the Virgin Islands, she will complete her itinerary and conclude the cruise in Puerto Rico.

“The superyacht Evrima is the Ritz-Carlton’s first venture into the cruise industry which will be followed by two others, the Ilma in 2024 and the Luminara in 2025,” said Mrs. Natasha Chalwell, Marketing Director for the BVI Ports Authority. 

Mrs. Chalwell added that the Ritz-Carlton Yacht Collection Company is committed to sustainable practices and implies that the superyachts will be designed with advanced environmental features and technologies to minimise any ecological impact.

Premier and Minister of Finance, Dr. the Honourable Natalio D. Wheatley presented a plaque to the captain of the Evrima, Captain Duncan Holroyd, on behalf of the Government and people of the Virgin Islands, in commemoration of the vessel’s inaugural call to the Territory.

Present at the plaque exchange ceremony were the Acting Governor Mr. David D. Archer Jr.; Premier and Minister of Finance, Dr. the Honourable Natalio D. Wheatley; Deputy Premier and Minister for Communications and Works, Honourable Kye M. Rymer; Junior Minister for Trade and Economic Development, Honourable Shereen D. Flax-Charles; Director of the BVI Tourist Board, Mr. Clive McCoy; Marketing Director for the BVI Ports Authority, Mrs. Natasha Chalwell and port agents from the Romasco Group, Ms. Patricia Romney and Ms. Sabrina Koss.

Note: Three photos -

1) The Evrima;

2) Plaque Exchange (L-R: Dr. the Honourable Natalio D. Wheatley, Honourable Shereen D. Flax-Charles, Captain Duncan Holroyd, Honourable Kye M. Rymer);

3) Government Delegation Onboard the Evrima (L-R Mrs. Natasha Chalwell, Dr. the Honourable Natalio D. Wheatley; Acting Governor, David D. Archer Jr.; Honourable Shereen D. Flax-Charles; Honourable Kye M. Rymer; Mr. Clive McCoy.

(Photo Credits: BVI Ports Authority)


Giovanni Herbert

Information Officer
Telephone:  468-2035