Press Release

Ministry of Education, Youth Affairs and Sports
Release Date:
Thursday, 10 February 2022 - 3:56pm

The Ministry of Education is focusing on the unique contribution of school counselors within the Territory’s school system as it observes National School Counseling Week 2022.

School Counsellor, Ms. Bisa Smith said the week was observed from February 7 to 11 under the theme, ‘School Counselors: Better Together,’ and highlights the tremendous impact school counselors have in helping students achieve school success and plan for a career.

Ms. Smith said, “National School Counseling Week is always observed the first full week in February. The special week honouring school counselors provides recognition for school counselors who implement comprehensive school counseling programmes which are a vital part of the educational process for all students as they meet the challenges of the 21st century.”

The following are counsellors who will be recognised for their contributions:

Primary School Counsellors (7)

Mrs. Sharon Leonard (Coordinator)

Ms. Ingrid Waters

Mrs. Desiree Chinnery Gomez

Mr. Jacob Edwards

Mrs. Tarriesha Dawson

Mr. Cedric Thomas

Mrs. Liana Taylor

Secondary School Counsellors (7)

Ms. Bisa Smith (Coordinator)

Ms. Kimra DeWindt

Ms. Keriann Malone

Ms. Shaunice Leonard

Ms. Amy Gordon

Mrs. Chonda George

Ms. Donalin Michel


Nekita Turnbull

Ag. Deputy Chief Information Officer
Department of Information & Public Relations 
Telephone: 468-2730