The Premier is an elected official, head of the Government of the Virgin Islands and leader of the Territory. The Premier is a member of Cabinet, National Security Council and House of Assembly. The Premier is the leader of government business who coordinates the development and implementation of government's legislative agenda across ministries and statutory bodies.

The Premier’s Office is the lead ministry within the Public Service of the Virgin Islands. The ministry provides strategic and administrative support to the Premier. The ministry coordinates and manages the work of Government to ensure the successful formulation and implementation of ministerial and cross-ministerial government policies and programmes throughout the Territory.



The Premier’s Office is comprised of highly trained, empowered team players who enjoy equal opportunity for advancement and job fulfilment. The ministry delivers courteous, professional services using documented policies and procedures and state of the art technology while sharing accurate and timely information.


To serve as the focal point for coordinating cross-sectorial policies and programmes and promoting the sustainable development of the Virgin Islands to ensure a well-informed, prosperous, cohesive and stable society.

Core Values

The Premier’s Office is committed to the following:

  1. Striving to be fair and consistent when performing our duties
  2. Aspiring to be competent, effective and productive in public service delivery
  3. Nurturing mutual respect and understanding among the staff and the public
  4. Upholding standards of honesty and fairness when performing duties



Honourable Dr. Natalio Wheatley
Permanent Secretary
Mrs. Carolyn Stoutt Igwe

Assistant Secretary

Harriett Anderson and Alicia Green

Deputy Secretary

Dr. Lavon Chalwell-Brewley

Premier's Office Contact Information

265 Waterfront Drive
Road Town 
Tortola VG1110
British Virgin Islands


Business Hours:

Monday - Friday  
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Telephone: 1(284) 468-2152


The Premier's subjects include: 

1. Building Inspection and Standards
2. Disaster Recovery
3. District Councils
4. Ecclesiastical and Religious Affairs
5. Electrical Inspection
6. Housing
7. Implementation of COI Recommendations
8. Industrial Development (including Incentives)
9. Information (including Standards for Media)
10. International Affairs
11. Maritime Administration and Shipping
12. Protocol
13. Regional Affairs
​14. Town and Country Planning



Statutory Boards

Appeals Tribunal
Building Authority
Planning Authority
Recovery and Development Agency