Under the Police Act 1961, Chapter 142 (Laws of the Virgin Islands) and subsidiary Legislation, the Royal Virgin Islands Police Force (RVIPF) was once responsible for the firefighting in the BVI. In 1981, Mr. W. M. Ward, O.B.E., O.ST.J, F.I FIRE submitted a report to Government on the prospect of having an Independent Fire Service. Mr. Ward was appointed as Fire Services Advisor for the British Virgin Islands, advising on the feasibility of creating a stand-alone Fire Service with special reference to establishment, equipment and training. In 1985, Mr. Colin Graham was appointed as the BVI's first Chief Fire Officer, serving from 1985-1989. In 1989, Mr. Leando O. Stoutt succeeded him, serving until 2011, after which Mr. William W. Penn acted as Chief Fire Officer. On June 5th, 2012, Mr. Zebalon A. Mclean was appointed as Chief Fire Officer.


To save and protect life and minimize damage to property by preventing and extinguishing fires; carry out rescue and perform other humanitarian services in order to safeguard the Community from the effects of Civil Emergencies including chemical incidents and road traffic accidents; inspect, report and advise on all fire safety matters as they affect the people and property of the British Virgin Islands and reduce the risk of fire through a comprehensive Communications Fire Safety Education Programme.


We the members of the Virgin Islands Fire and Rescue Service pledge to protect Life, property and the environment and we will meet our commitment through a proactive approach to continuously enhancing the quality of service we provide. We believe that the local service can be on par with the rest of the world.

Core Values

  • We will provide the people of the Virgin Islands with a caring and operationally efficient service that is consistently of high quality and provides value for money;
  • We will display effective management of resources in all activities;
  • We will continue to develop all staff to a level that ensures their skills and experience meet the needs of the service;
  • We will recognize that our customers are partners, who must be provided with quality service.


Our Department

Chief Fire Officer-  Zebalon A. McLean is responsible for the overall administration, operations and planning.

Deputy Chief Fire Officer- William W. Penn, MSc, is responsible for Planning and Operations.

Station Officer- Joseph A.George is responsible for the Support Services Unit and he is supported by a Sub Officer, Fire Officer and the Fire Service Mechanic.

Station Officer- Melvin A. Jeffers is responsible for the Service Delivery Unit and he is supported by a Sub Officer.

Station Officer- Tyronne E. Caddle is responsible for the Human Resources Unit and he is supported by a Sub Officer.

Administrative Support Unit - This unit is made up of a Senior Executive Officer, Accounts Officer II, Officer Generalist I, Office Generalist II and Domestic Cleaners.

In all, there are nine Sub Officers, four Leading Fire Officers and 38 Fire Officers. They comprise of the four shifts at Headquarters, and form crews at Fire Stations in East End,  West End, Anegada, Virgin Gorda and Jost Van Dyke.

The names and ranks of all Junior Officers are listed below:

Sub Officers/E.M.Ts Sub Officers Leading Fire Officers/E.M.Ts
Aldith Penn David Ronan Anthony Winchester
Alexander Parillon Geraldo Barry Benson Thomas
Marcus Malone Elroy Chalwell Gaston Walters
Patrick Victor Elvin Forbes Samuel Lettsome
  Victor Williams  


Fire Officers/E.M.Ts Fire Officers
Elnathan White Alston Richardson Gregory Alleyne Jr. Richard Penn Jr.
Giovanni Fahie Avery Malone Jacob Lennard Romney Thomas
Joseph Graham Cleve Davis Jerald Fornord Roy Thomas
Philip Glasgow Jr. Clifford Thomas Kelbert George Jr. Shawn Rymer
Stephen Chinnery Cuthbert Robinson Keone Maduro Shermon Tyson
Derek Duncan Dayron Baronville Kevin Prince Travon Gumbs
  Winston Farrington Jr. Liston Potter Vernon Stevens
  Dinsley Samuel Macklin Stoutt Walden Powell
  Elgin Johnson Marvin Chinnery Yanique Roache
  Nathan Mclean Eugene Freeman Rico Penn
There are currently three vacant Fire Officer posts


Fire Service Mechanic
Esan Stout


Department Contact Information

To make contact with Virgin Islands Fire and Rescue Service, see below for contact information:

Fire and Rescue Service

#26 Fishlock Road
P.O.Box 999
Road Town, Tortola
Virgin Islands (British) VG 1110

Business Hours:

Headquarters operates on a 24 hour basis
Official office hours to the public are:
Mondays - Fridays
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Email Address: Bvi_Fire@gov.vg

Tel : 1(284) 468-4182 | 1(284) 468-4268